BCM School Basant Avenue, Dugri, Ludhiana

Social Studies

Assignment No. 1

Class IV

Read the source below and answer the following questions:

India is in Asia. India is the 7th largest country in the world in area and the second largest in population. The northern boundary of India is protected by very high mountain ranges-the Himalayas. The southern part of India is peninsula. It is surrounded by the water bodies namely the Arabian Sea in the West, the Bay of Bengal in the east and the Indian Ocean in the south. Kanyakumari is the southernmost tip of mainland of India. India became an independent country on 15th August 1947. India is a union of 28 States and 8 union territories including the National Capital Territory of India shares the land boundaries with Pakistan Afghanistan China Nepal Bhutan Myanmar and Bangladesh.

I.Question/Answers:

1.In which continent India is located?

Ans: India is located in the continent Asia.

2. Which part of India is Peninsula?

Ans: The southern part of India is peninsula.

3. How many states and UT's are there in India?

Ans: There are 28 states and 8 union territories in India.

4.List the neighbouring countries of India.

Ans: Pakistan, Afghanistan China Nepal Bhutan Myanmar and Bangladesh .

5. What are the three water bodies of India?

Ans: The Arabian Sea in the West, the Bay of Bengal in the east and the Indian Ocean in the south.

II.Fill in the blanks:

1.India is second largest country in population.

2. The himalayas range protects the northern boundary of India.

3.India is the seventh largest country in the world in terms of area.

III.Multiple Choice Questions:

1. India is protected by the high mountain ranges called

(a) Himalaya.(b)Peninsula.(c) Bay of Bengal

2. ______is the southern tip of the main land of India

(a)Kanyakumari (b)Myanmar. (c) Bangladesh

IV.True /False:

1. The southern part of India is Peninsula. True

2.India became independent country on 15 August, 1946. False

V. Match the following:

1) Arabian Sea. East. 2

2) Bay of Bengal.

3) Kanyakumari

4) Union Territories

West 1 Eight 4 Southernmost tip 3

VI. Write the capitals of the following states of India.

1.Punjab

2. Rajasthan

3.Uttar Pradesh

4. Himachal Pradesh

5. Haryana

Chandigarh

Lucknow

Jaipur

Shimla

Chandigarh